Our Sto­ry Our Sto­ry
The ori­gins of PHYSEC can be traced back to the Horst Görtz Insti­tu­te for IT Secu­ri­ty (HGI) in Bochum. The­re, the rese­arch and dis­ser­ta­ti­on results of Dr. Chris­ti­an Zen­ger at the Chair of Prof. Dr. Chris­tof Paar for Embed­ded Secu­ri­ty ser­ved as the foun­da­ti­on for the deve­lo­p­ment of our secu­ri­ty solutions.

Through the uni­que com­bi­na­ti­on of app­lied cryp­to­gra­phy and com­mu­ni­ca­ti­ons engi­nee­ring, PHYSEC offers inno­va­ti­ve secu­ri­ty solu­ti­ons based on the latest rese­arch results for app­li­ca­ti­ons in the Inter­net of Things. Com­pa­red to clas­si­cal cryp­to­gra­phy, PHYSEC thus pres­ents a fun­da­ment­al­ly dif­fe­ren­tia­ble IT secu­ri­ty para­digm that achie­ves secu­ri­ty goals by gau­g­ing pro­per­ties of the elec­tro­ma­gne­tic radio chan­nel and using the phy­si­cal con­di­ti­on as well as the envi­ron­ment of a device. With our inno­va­ti­ve secu­ri­ty and con­nec­ti­vi­ty con­cepts, we enab­le the imple­men­ta­ti­on of digi­tal busi­ness models with hig­hest IT secu­ri­ty as well as ease of use at the same time, con­tri­bu­ting to the digi­tal self-deter­mi­na­ti­on of our customers.

 

PHYSEC has recei­ved several awards for our solu­ti­ons and busi­ness model. To main­tain our tech­no­lo­gi­cal and sci­en­ti­fic edge, we are acti­ve in inter­na­tio­nal rese­arch pro­jects with Prince­ton Uni­ver­si­ty, Har­vard Uni­ver­si­ty and Ruhr Uni­ver­si­ty Bochum, among others, as well as on a natio­nal level with the Freie Uni­ver­si­tät Ber­lin and the Tech­ni­sche Uni­ver­si­tät Berlin.

Dr. Christian Zenger

Dr. Christian Zenger

CEO

Dr. Chris­ti­an Zen­ger is CEO and foun­der of PHYSEC GmbH. He is born in colo­gne and came over Bos­ten to Bochum. Dr. Zen­ger deve­lo­pes infor­­ma­­ti­on-theo­­re­­ti­­cal and radio chan­­nel-bases secu­ri­ty solu­ti­ons and is inven­tor of various wire­less phy­­si­­cal-lay­­er-secu­­ri­­ty pro­ce­du­res for the IoT ecosystem.

email: christian.zenger@physec.de

PGP-Key: 40E72681

Dr. Heiko Koepke

Dr. Heiko Koepke

CFO

Dr. Hei­ko Koep­ke is CFO and foun­der of PHYSEC GmbH and enroo­ted with the Ruhr­ge­biet sin­ce his child­hood. He recei­ved his doc­to­ra­te at the chair of con­trol­ling of Ruhr-Uni­­ver­­­si­­ty Bochum. He is an expert for busi­ness deve­lo­p­ment, entre­pre­neurs­hip, finan­cial con­trol­ling and inno­va­ti­on management. 

Email: heiko.koepke@physec.de

PGP-Key: 8077380F

Prof. Dr. Christof Paar

Prof. Dr. Christof Paar

Advi­so­ry

Prof. Dr. Chris­tof Paar is uni­ver­si­ty chair hol­der of Embed­ded Secu­ri­ty at the Ruhr-Uni­­ver­­­si­­ty Bochum as well as Affi­lia­ted Pro­fes­sor at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Mas­sa­chu­setts Amherst. He is also foun­der of many IT-secu­­ri­­ty concerns.

Willi Mannheims

Willi Mannheims

Advi­so­ry

Wil­li Mann­heims is a suc­cess­ful foun­der, CEO, and inves­tor in the field of infor­ma­ti­on theo­ry and IT-secu­­ri­­ty with more than 25 years of experience.

Die Ursprünge von PHYSEC liegen am Horst Görtz Institut für IT-Sicherheit (HGI) in Bochum. Dort bildeten die Forschungs- und Promotionsergebnisse von Dr. Christian Zenger am Lehrstuhl von Prof. Dr. Christof Paar für Embedded Security die Grundlage für die Entwicklung unserer Sicherheitslösungen.

Durch die einzigartige Kombination von angewandter Kryptographie und Nachrichtentechnik bietet PHYSEC innovative Sicherheitslösungen auf Grundlage neuster Forschungsergebnisse für Anwendungen im Internet der Dinge. Im Vergleich zur klassischen Kryptographie, stellt PHYSEC damit ein fundamental differenzierbares IT-Sicherheitsparadigma dar, das Sicherheitsziele durch die Ausmessung von Eigenschaften des elektromagnetischen Funkkanals und der Verwendung der physikalischen Gegebenheit sowie der Umgebung eines Gerätes erreicht. Mit unseren innovativen Sicherheits- und Konnektivitätskonzepten ermöglichen wir die Umsetzung digitaler Geschäftsmodelle mit höchster IT-Sicherheit und gleichzeitig einfacher Anwendung und tragen so zur digitalen Selbstbestimmung unserer Kunden bei.

Für unsere Lösungen und unser Geschäftsmodell wurde die PHYSEC GmbH bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet. Zur Aufrechterhaltung des technologischen und wissenschaftlichen Vorsprungs ist die PHYSEC GmbH in internationalen Forschungsprojekten mit der Princeton University, Harvard University und der Ruhr-Universität Bochum sowie auf nationaler Ebene mit der Freien Universität Berlin und der Technischen Universität Berlin aktiv.

Dr. Christian Zenger

Dr. Christian Zenger

Gründer und Geschäftsführer

Dr. Christian Zenger ist Geschäftsführer und Gründer der PHYSEC GmbH, geborener Kölner und über Boston zur Hackerhochburg Bochum gekommen. Er entwickelt informations-theoretische und funkkanalbasierte Sicherheitslösungen und ist Erfinder verschiedener Wireless Physical-Layer Security Verfahren für das IoT-Ökosystem.

Dr. Heiko Koepke

Dr. Heiko Koepke

Gründer und Geschäftsführer

Dr. Heiko Koepke ist Gründer und Geschäftsführer der PHYSEC GmbH und bereits seit seiner Kindheit mit dem Ruhrgebiet verwurzelt. Promoviert hat er an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum am Lehrstuhl für Controlling. Er ist Experte für die Bereiche Business Development, Entrepreneurship, Financial-Controlling und Innovation-Management.

Prof. Dr. Christof Paar

Prof. Dr. Christof Paar

Beirat

Prof. Dr. Christof Paar ist Lehrstuhlinhaber des Chair of Embedded Security an der Ruhr-Universität Bochum sowie Affiliated Professor an der University of Massachusetts Amherst. Daneben ist der Mitgründer verschiedener Unternehmen aus dem Bereich Data Security.

Willi Mannheims

Willi Mannheims

Beirat

Willi Mannheims ist erfolgreicher Gründer, CEO und Investor im Bereich der Informationstheorie und IT-Sicherheit mit über 25 Jahren Erfahrung in diesem Bereich.