PHYSEC Technology

Physics meets Security: Anchor and connecting physical goods into the digital world

By uni­que­ly com­bi­ning phy­si­cal-lay­er pro­per­ties and app­lied cryp­to­gra­phy, PHYSEC was able to crea­te a novel tech­no­lo­gy for secu­ring the Inter­net of Things (IoT). Com­pa­red to clas­si­cal cryp­to­gra­phy, the tech­no­lo­gy by hand repres­ents a fun­da­ment­al­ly dif­fe­ren­tia­ble para­digm that rea­li­zes secu­ri­ty objec­ti­ves by mea­su­ring the cha­rac­te­ris­tics of the elec­tro­ma­gne­tic wave pro­pa­ga­ti­on and the use of the phy­si­cal con­di­ti­on and envi­ron­ment of a device. Our Start-up PHYSEC uses this tech­no­lo­gy to crea­te novel cryp­to­gra­phic and secu­ri­ty app­li­ca­ti­ons, such as:

  • Ran­dom num­ber generator
  • Remo­te identification/authentication of enti­ties over inse­cu­re networks
  • High­ly secu­re, for­ge­ry-pro­of labels
  • Online com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on pro­to­col, which veri­fies remo­te­ly over arbi­tra­ry distan­ces that a tam­per sen­si­ti­ve sys­tem has not been tam­perd with, and which con­si­der­ab­ly saves upon sto­rage requi­re­ments com­pa­red to exis­ting protocols
  • Post-quan­tum resistant phy­si­cal key exchange
  • Relay sta­ti­on attack prevention
  • Tam­per sen­si­ti­ve systems
  • Remo­te check of hard­ware integrity
  • Pro­ofs of colo­ca­li­ty of two inter­ac­ting systems
  • Vir­tu­al pro­of of rea­li­ty to pro­of the phy­si­cal inte­gri­ty, authen­ti­ci­ty and con­di­ti­on of an object cryptographically

Key features

Disordered electromagnetic systems

Prac­ti­cal­ly every object dif­fers from an iden­ti­cal object due to uni­que and unclon­ab­le pro­duc­tion-depen­dent varia­ti­ons. The advan­ta­ge of such struc­tures (3D arran­ge­ments of meso- and macro­scopic objects) is their hig­her ran­dom infor­ma­ti­on con­tent in com­pa­ri­son with ICs, sin­ce they are three-dimen­sio­nal. By making the­se struc­tures machi­ne-read­a­ble, we can rea­li­ze a varie­ty of new applications.

Radio channel

Vir­tual­ly every envi­ron­ment dif­fers in time and space from other envi­ron­ments and intro­du­ces rand­om­ness to radio trans­cei­vers. Due to its phy­si­cal pro­per­ties, sym­me­try and spa­ti­al diver­si­ty, wire­less chan­nel para­me­ters can be model­led as a bidi­rec­tio­n­al entro­py source not shared with others.

personal consultation

We as PHYSEC ans­wer your questions.
You can talk direct­ly to our executives.

Dr. Chris­ti­an Zen­ger, CEO
Email: christian.zenger@physec.de

Dr. Hei­ko Koep­ke, CFO
Email: heiko.koepke@physec.de

Physical-Layer Security (PHYSEC) Technologie

Sichere Verankerung und Verbindung physischer Dinge mit der digitalen Welt

Durch die ein­zig­ar­ti­ge Kom­bi­na­ti­on der Eigen­schaf­ten der phy­si­ka­li­schen Schicht und der ange­wand­ten Kryp­to­gra­phie ver­fügt PHYSEC über eine inno­va­ti­ve Tech­no­lo­gie zur Siche­rung des von Anwen­dun­gen im Inter­net der Din­ge (IoT). Im Ver­gleich zur klas­si­schen Kryp­to­gra­phie stellt die Tech­no­lo­gie ein grund­le­gend dif­fe­ren­zier­ba­res Para­dig­ma dar – Dadurch wer­den Sicher­heits­zie­le durch die Mes­sung der Eigen­schaf­ten der elek­tro­ma­gne­ti­schen Wel­len­aus­brei­tung und durch die Nut­zung des phy­si­ka­li­schen Zustan­des und der Umge­bung des Gerä­tes rea­li­siert. PHYSEC nutzt die­se Tech­no­lo­gie, um neu­ar­ti­ge kryp­to­gra­phi­sche Sicher­heits­an­wen­dun­gen zu schaf­fen, dar­un­ter bei­spiels­wei­se:

  • Zufalls­zah­len­ge­ne­ra­tor
  • Fernidentifizierung/Authentifizierung von Gegen­stän­den über unsi­che­re Netz­wer­ke
  • Hoch­si­che­re, fäl­schungs­si­che­re Eti­ket­ten
  • Online-Kom­mu­ni­ka­ti­ons­pro­to­koll, das aus der Fer­ne über belie­bi­ge Ent­fer­nun­gen über­prüft, ob ein mani­pu­la­ti­ons­emp­find­li­ches Sys­tem mani­pu­liert wur­de und das im Ver­gleich zu bestehen­den Pro­to­kol­len erheb­li­che Ein­spa­run­gen bei den Spei­cher­an­for­de­run­gen rea­li­siert
  • Post-quan­ten­re­sis­ten­ter phy­si­ka­li­scher Schlüs­sel­aus­tausch
  • Ver­hin­de­rung von Angrif­fen auf die Relay-Sta­ti­on
  • Mani­pu­la­ti­ons­emp­find­li­che Sys­te­me
  • Fern­prü­fung der Hard­ware-Inte­gri­tät
  • Bewei­se für die Co-Loka­li­sie­rung zwei­er inter­agie­ren­der Sys­te­me
  • Vir­tu­el­ler Rea­li­täts­nach­weis zur kryp­to­gra­fi­schen Über­prü­fung der phy­si­schen Inte­gri­tät, Authen­ti­zi­tät und des Zustands eines Objekts

Zentrale Eigenschaften

Ungeordnete elektromagnetische Systeme

Prak­tisch jedes Objekt unter­schei­det sich von einem iden­ti­schen Objekt durch ein­zig­ar­ti­ge, pro­duk­ti­ons­ab­hän­gi­ge Varia­tio­nen. Der Vor­teil der­ar­ti­ger Struk­tu­ren (3D-Anord­nun­gen von meso- und makro­sko­pi­schen Objek­ten) ist ihr höhe­rer Zufalls­in­for­ma­ti­ons­ge­halt im Ver­gleich zu ICs, da sie drei­di­men­sio­nal sind. Indem die­se Struk­tu­ren maschi­nen­les­bar gemacht wer­den, kann eine Viel­zahl neu­er Anwen­dun­gen rea­li­siert wer­den.

Funkkanal

Prak­tisch jede Umge­bung unter­schei­det sich in Zeit und Raum von ande­ren Umge­bun­gen und inte­griert dadurch Zufäl­lig­kei­ten in Funk­sen­der und –Emp­fän­ger. Durch ihre phy­si­ka­li­schen Eigen­schaf­ten, ihre Sym­me­trie und ihre räum­li­che Diver­si­tät kön­nen die Para­me­ter von Funk­ka­nä­len als eine bidi­rek­tio­na­le Entro­pie­quel­le model­liert wer­den, die nicht mit ande­ren geteilt wird.

persönliche Beratung

Wir von PHYSEC beant­wor­ten Ihnen ger­ne Ihre Fra­gen.
Spre­chen Sie jetzt direkt mit unse­ren Geschäfts­füh­rern.

Dr. Chris­ti­an Zen­ger, CEO
Email: christian.zenger@physec.de

Dr. Hei­ko Koep­ke, CFO
Email: heiko.koepke@physec.de