Relay Detektion PHYSEC Guard

With PHYSEC GUARD we offer the pos­si­bi­li­ty to pro­tect your cus­to­mers from relay attacks and thus pre­vent theft, espio­na­ge and simi­lar. Our Relay-Detec­tion Sys­tem is uni­que on the mar­ket and pro­mi­ses hig­hest secu­ri­ty com­bi­ned with excel­lent per­for­mance. The solu­ti­on can be adap­ted to your chips fle­xi­b­ly. All we need is API access to your trans­mis­si­on chip. Our sys­tem can be imple­men­ted both with Blue­tooth and UWB. Our solu­ti­on is based on the uni­que varia­ti­on of the signal via the trans­mis­si­on chan­nel and the hard­ware. By reflec­tion and absorp­ti­on of the elec­tro­ma­gne­tic waves, the signal varies bet­ween the com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on part­ners in a way that can­not be repro­du­ced. Each chip and each device dif­fers mini­mal­ly in its phy­si­cal pro­per­ties. It is almost impos­si­ble to pro­du­ce two iden­ti­cal chips, which leads to indi­vi­du­al chan­ges in the trans­mis­si­on beha­viour of the chips. We use this beha­viour to take digi­tal fin­ger­prints and to pro­vi­de you with pas­si­ve dual authen­ti­ca­ti­on. Both methods use sta­te of the art machi­ne lear­ning algo­rith­ms, which allow such high levels of accu­ra­cy.

Increasing number of attacks

Keyless ent­ry sys­tems are beco­m­ing incre­a­singly popu­lar. Manu­fac­tu­rers and cus­to­mers pri­ma­ri­ly asso­cia­te com­fort, inno­va­ti­on and user-friend­li­ness with the eli­mi­na­ti­on of an addi­tio­nal key. Howe­ver, ope­ning the door without addi­tio­nal user inter­ac­tion also attracts unwan­ted intru­ders. Radio signals can be easi­ly trans­mit­ted, which leads to a rising num­ber of thefts. A report by ZDF shows how fast atta­ckers pro­ceed. Unfor­tu­n­a­te­ly, most secu­ri­ty mecha­nisms are useless to pre­vent the­se relay attacks.

Relay Attacks

Relay attacks are pas­si­ve man-in-the-midd­le attacks with the intent of bypas­sing authen­ti­ca­ti­on without local pro­xi­mi­ty. This makes typi­cal cryp­to­gra­phic methods of authen­ti­ca­ti­on and iden­ti­fi­ca­ti­on easy to over­co­me, as the legi­ti­ma­te par­ties assu­me that they are com­mu­ni­ca­ting among each other.

Supported standards

Our solu­ti­on is based on phy­si­cal chan­nel pro­per­ties and can the­re­fo­re be app­lied to dif­fe­rent radio com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on stan­dards, among others:

  • IEEE 802.15.1 (Blue­tooth 4.x/5.x)
  • IEEE 802.15.4 (Zig­Bee)
  • IEEE 802.11 b/g/n (2.4 GHz/5GHz Wi-Fi)

Key Facts

  • 200kB Pro­gram size
  • ~9kB RAM
  • Attack detec­tion in 1.5s
  • Pro­tec­tion of low cost BLE com­mu­ni­ca­ti­on
  • Alter­na­ti­ve to cost-inten­si­ve UWB solu­ti­ons

Application areas

Access control

Whe­ther in pri­va­te use or in indus­tri­al buil­ding com­ple­xes: secu­re and trust­worthy access con­trol is essen­ti­al. GUARD allows the phy­si­cal pro­xi­mi­ty to be taken into account here.

Automotive

Par­ti­cu­lar­ly in the auto­mo­ti­ve indus­try, a trend towards keyless ent­ry sys­tems has long been dis­cer­ni­ble. Here you can learn about the dan­gers this ent­ails.

Smart Home

Nobo­dy wants stran­gers to gain unaut­ho­ri­sed access to their home. Here we show you which gaps the atta­ckers explo­it and how you can pro­tect your cus­to­mers.

Have we aroused your interest?

Con­ta­ct us today and learn more about the use and advan­ta­ges of PHYSEC GUARD. Advice and sup­port is our top prio­ri­ty, becau­se we under­stand that every cus­to­mer has dif­fe­rent needs.

Personal consultation

Respond to the rising thre­at level and pre­vent tomorrow’s attacks. We at PHYSEC will be hap­py to ans­wer your ques­ti­ons.
Talk direct­ly to our exe­cu­ti­ves now.

Dr. Chris­ti­an Zen­ger, CEO
Email: christian.zenger@physec.de

Dr. Hei­ko Koep­ke, CFO
Email: heiko.koepke@physec.de

Relay Detektion PHYSEC Guard

Mit PHYSEC GUARD bieten wir Ihnen die Möglichkeit Ihre Kun­den vor Relay Angrif­f­en zu schützen und so Dieb­stahl, Spi­onage und Ähn­lich­es vorzubeu­gen. Unser Relay-Detec­tion Sys­tem ist einzi­gar­tig auf dem Markt und ver­spricht höch­ste Sicher­heit, gepaart mit guter Per­for­mance. Die Lösung lässt sich flex­i­bel an Ihre Chips anpassen, wofür wir lediglich einen API-Zugriff auf Ihren Über­tra­gungschip benöti­gen. Unser Sys­tem ist sowohl mit Blue­tooth, als auch mit UWB umset­zbar. Unsere Lösung basiert auf der einzi­gar­ti­gen Verän­derung des Sig­nals über den Über­tra­gungskanal ein­er­seits und der Hard­ware ander­er­seits. Durch Reflek­tion und Absorb­tion der elek­tro­mag­netis­chen Wellen verän­dert sich das Sig­nal auf nicht nach­bild­bare Art und Weise zwis­chen den Kom­mu­nika­tion­spart­nern. Jed­er Chip, jedes Gerät unter­schei­det sich min­i­mal in seinen physikalis­chen Eigen­schaften. Es ist nahezu unmöglich zwei iden­tis­che Chips herzustellen, was zu indi­vidu­ellen Verän­derun­gen im Sende­v­er­hal­ten der Chips führt. Dieses Ver­hal­ten nutzen wir, um dig­i­tale Fin­ger­ab­drücke zu nehmen und Ihnen eine pas­sive Zweifach-Authen­tifizierung zu gewährleis­ten. Für bei­de Ver­fahren nutzen wir State of the Art Machine Learn­ing Algo­rith­men, ohne die eine solche Genauigkeit nicht möglich wäre.

Steigende Angriffszahlen

Key­less Entry Sys­teme erfreuen sich immer größer­er Beliebtheit. Mit dem Weg­fall eines zusät­zlichen Schlüs­sels verbinden Her­steller und Kun­den in erster Lin­ie Kom­fort, Inno­va­tion und Benutzer­fre­undlichkeit. Das Öff­nen der Tür ohne zusät­zliche Benutzer­in­ter­ak­tion ruft jedoch auch Angreifer auf den Plan. Funkverbindun­gen kön­nen ein­fach weit­ergeleit­et wer­den, was zu immer mehr Dieb­stählen führt. Wie schnell die Angreifer vorge­hen, zeigt ein Beitrag des ZDF. Die meis­ten Sicher­heitsmech­a­nis­men sind gegen diese Relay-Angriffe macht­los.

Relay-Attack

Ein Relay-Angriff ist ein pas­siv­er Man-in-the-Mid­dle-Angriff mit der Absicht, die Authen­tifizierung ohne örtliche Nähe zu umge­hen. Typ­is­che kryp­tographis­che Meth­o­d­en zur Authen­tifizierung und Iden­ti­fizierung sind leicht zu über­winden, da die legit­i­men Parteien glauben, dass sie über Nachricht­en miteinan­der sprechen.

Unterstützte Standards

Unsere Lösung basiert auf physikalis­chen Kanaleigen­schaften und kann somit für unter­schiedliche Funkverbindun­gen ver­wen­det wer­den, unter anderem:

  • IEEE 802.15.1 (Blue­tooth 4.x/5.x)
  • IEEE 802.15.4 (Zig­Bee)
  • IEEE 802.11 b/g/n (2.4 GHz/5GHz Wi-Fi)

Key Facts

  • 200kB Pro­gram­m­größe
  • ~9kB RAM
  • Angriffs­de­tek­tion in 1.5s
  • Absicherung von kostengün­stiger BLE Kom­mu­nika­tion
  • Alter­na­tive zu kosten­in­ten­siv­en UWB-Lösun­gen

Anwendungsgebiete

Zutrittskontrolle

Ob im pri­vat­en Gebrauch oder in Indus­triellen Gebäudekom­plex­en: eine sichere und ver­trauenswürdi­ge Zutrittskon­trolle ist uner­lässlich. GUARD ermöglicht es, die physikalis­che Nähe hier mit zu berück­sichti­gen.

Automotive

Ger­ade im Bere­ich der Auto­mo­bil­branche erken­nt man schon lange einen Trend in die Rich­tung des Key­less Entry Sys­tems. Welche Gefahren dieses birgt, erfahren Sie hier.

Smart Home

Nie­mand möchte, dass sich Fremde uner­laubt Zutritt zu ihrem Heim beschaf­fen kön­nen. Welche Lück­en die Angreifer aus­nutzen und wie Sie sich schützen, zeigen wir ihnen hier.

Haben wir Ihr Interesse geweckt?

Kon­tak­tieren Sie uns noch heute und erfahren Sie noch mehr über den Ein­satz und die Vorteile von PHYSEC GUARD. Beratung und Unter­stützung ste­ht für uns an erster Stelle, denn wir wis­sen, dass jed­er Kunde andere Bedürfnisse hat.

Persönliche Beratung

Reagieren Sie auf die steigende Bedro­hungslage und ver­hin­dern Sie die Angriffe von mor­gen. Wir von PHYSEC beant­worten Ihnen gerne Ihre Fra­gen.
Sprechen Sie jet­zt direkt mit unseren Geschäfts­führern.

Dr. Chris­t­ian Zenger, CEO
Email: christian.zenger@physec.de

Dr. Heiko Koep­ke, CFO
Email: heiko.koepke@physec.de