post

Outstanding success for young companies

PHYSEC GmbH has been awarded the main prize of the largest and most renowned business plan competition in the German digital economy as ‘Digital Start-up 2018’.

At the CeBIT in Hanover, PHYSEC GmbH was award­ed the “Dig­i­tal Start-up 2018” prize by the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ics and Ener­gy (BMWi) as part of the nation­wide com­pe­ti­tion. The prize was award­ed for the first time and was aimed at young com­pa­nies that have been par­tic­u­lar­ly suc­cess­ful in imple­ment­ing their found­ing ideas. The prize-win­ners received their awards dur­ing the “Start-up Talk: Dig­i­tal Inno­va­tions” con­gress by Thomas Jar­zombek, the Ger­man government’s coor­di­na­tor for aero­space.

PHYSEC convinces with security for the Internet of Things

PHYSEC could con­vince with the solu­tion IoTree, the tech­nol­o­gy for secure and user-friend­ly encryp­tion of com­mu­ni­ca­tion between net­worked devices in the Inter­net of Things. IoTree uses infor­ma­tion from the com­mon envi­ron­ment of two devices so that encryp­tion can­not be recon­struct­ed after­wards by poten­tial exter­nal attack­ers.

More infor­ma­tion about IoTree and pos­si­ble appli­ca­tions can be found here.

The prize provides growth capital for young companies

The prizes of the com­pe­ti­tion are endowed with a total of 100,000 euros — first place goes to 50,000 euros, sec­ond place to 30,000 euros and third place to 10,000 euros each. Oth­er award win­ners include COMPREDICT GmbH, enve­lio GmbH and RIPS Tech­nolo­gies from Bochum. The prize mon­ey is to be invest­ed in the start-ups as growth cap­i­tal.

Start-ups from the start-up ini­tia­tives of the Fed­er­al Min­istry of Eco­nom­ics and Ener­gy can apply for the “Dig­i­tal Start-up of the Year” award. In addi­tion to the “Start-up Com­pe­ti­tion — Dig­i­tal Inno­va­tions”, this also includes fund­ing pro­grammes such as “EXIST — Start-ups from Sci­ence”. A fur­ther con­di­tion for par­tic­i­pa­tion is the gen­er­a­tion of a min­i­mum turnover of 100,000 with­in the past twelve months by the start-ups.

PHYSEC and RIPS Tech­nolo­gies are two of the award-win­ning com­pa­nies from Bochum — the glob­al­ly impor­tant loca­tion for IT secu­ri­ty.

The winners of the competition during the award ceremony at CeBit (©Andrea Janssen)

post

Herausragender Erfolg für Jungunternehmen

Die PHYSEC GmbH ist als ‘Digitales Start-up 2018’ mit dem Hauptpreis des größten und renommiertesten Businessplan-Wettbewerbs der deutschen Digitalwirtschaft prämiert worden.

Auf der CeBIT in Han­nover wurde die PHYSEC GmbH im Rah­men des bun­desweit­en Wet­tbe­werbs vom Bun­desmin­is­teri­um für Wirtschaft und Ern­ergie (BMWi) als „Dig­i­tales Start-up 2018“ aus­geze­ich­net. Der Preis wurde erst­ma­lig vergeben und richtete sich an Jun­gun­ternehmen, die ihre Grün­dungsidee beson­ders erfol­gre­ich umge­set­zt haben. Prämiert wur­den die Preisträger während des Kon­gress­es „Start-up Talk: Dig­i­tal Inno­va­tions“ von Thomas Jar­zombek, dem Koor­di­na­tor der Bun­desregierung für Luft- und Raum­fahrt.

PHYSEC überzeugt mit Sicherheit für das Internet der Dinge

Überzeu­gen kon­nte PHYSEC mit der Lösung IoTree, der Tech­nolo­gie zur sicheren und nutzer­fre­undlichen Ver­schlüs­selung der Kom­mu­nika­tion zwis­chen ver­net­zen Geräten im Inter­net der Dinge. Anwen­dungs­felder der Tech­nolo­gie liegen beispiel­sweise in den Bere­ichen Smart Home und Indus­trie 4.0. IoTree greift auf Infor­ma­tio­nen des gemein­samen Umfelds zweier Geräte zurück, sodass die Ver­schlüs­selung für mögliche externe Angreifer im Nach­hinein nicht rekon­stru­ier­bar ist.

Mehr Infos über IoTree und mögliche Ein­satzge­bi­ete der IT-Sicher­heit­slö­sung gibt es hier.

Der Preis stellt Wachstumskapital für Jungunternehmen bereit

Die Preise des Wet­tbe­werbs sind mit ins­ge­samt 100.000 Euro dotiert – 50.000 Euro bekommt der erste Platz, 30.000 Euro Platz zwei und je 10.000 Euro gehen an den dop­pelt vergebe­nen drit­ten Platz. Zu den Preisträgern gehören eben­falls die COMPREDICT GmbH, die enve­lio GmbH und RIPS Tech­nolo­gies aus Bochum. Die Preis­gelder sollen als Wach­s­tum­skap­i­tal in die Start-ups einge­bracht wer­den.

Für den Preis „Dig­i­tales Start-up des Jahres“ kön­nen sich Start-ups aus den Grün­dungsini­tia­tiv­en des Bun­desmin­is­teri­ums für Wirtschaft und Energie bewer­ben. Neben dem „Grün­der­wet­tbe­werb – Dig­i­tale Inno­va­tio­nen“ zählen dazu auch Förder­pro­gramme wie „EXIST – Exis­ten­z­grün­dun­gen aus der Wis­senschaft“. Eine weit­ere Teil­nah­mebe­din­gung ist die Erwirtschaf­tung eines Min­des­tum­satzes von 100.000 inner­halb der ver­gan­genen zwölf Monate durch die Start-ups.

Mit PHYSEC und RIPS Tech­nolo­gies kom­men gle­ich zwei der prämierten Unternehmen aus Bochum – dem weltweit bedeu­ten­den Stan­dort für IT-Sicher­heit.

Die Preisträger des Wettbewerbs während der Preisverleihung auf der CeBit (Fotos: ©Andrea Janssen)

Erfahren Sie mehr dazu in der Pres­se­in­for­ma­tion der Ruhr-Uni­ver­sität Bochum.