post

Novel technology for monitoring nuclear weapons

In the future, this technology might help verify if countries abide by disarmament treaties.

An inter­na­tio­nal IT rese­arch team from Bochum, Prince­ton, and Har­vard has deve­lo­ped a tech­no­lo­gy that faci­li­ta­tes the moni­to­ring of chan­ges in nuclear silos without having to reveal secret infor­ma­ti­on about the stored wea­pons. In future, it is expec­ted to help veri­fy if coun­tries abi­de by dis­ar­ma­ment trea­ties. The rooms are phy­si­cal­ly moni­to­red with radio waves; a sophisti­ca­ted cryp­to­gra­phic tech­ni­que ensu­res that the pro­cess can­not be mani­pu­la­ted.

As far as rese­ar­chers are con­cer­ned, no chal­len­ge is grea­ter than moni­to­ring nuclear wea­pons: poten­ti­al atta­ckers in this case are ent­i­re nati­ons, rather than small groups of hackers or other cri­mi­nals. The coun­tries have almost unli­mi­ted finan­ci­al resour­ces at their dis­po­sal and have access to sta­te-of-the-art offen­si­ve tech­no­lo­gy.

In the inter­di­sci­pli­na­ry pro­ject, mem­bers of the Bochum-based Horst Görtz Insti­tu­te for IT Secu­ri­ty (HGI) col­la­bo­ra­te clo­se­ly with US-Ame­ri­can col­leagues from Prince­ton Uni­ver­si­ty and Har­vard Uni­ver­si­ty. A report about the work has been published in the sci­ence maga­zi­ne Rubin.

Radio wave map indi­ca­tes chan­ges

In order to iden­ti­fy chan­ges in a nuclear silo, rese­ar­chers deploy elec­tro­ma­gne­tic waves in the radio fre­quen­cy ran­ge. As they are reflec­ted by walls and objects, a uni­que radio wave map of the room can be gene­ra­ted. Every chan­ge – for examp­le if a war­head were to be remo­ved from the sto­ra­ge faci­li­ty – would chan­ge the refle­xi­on pat­tern and could thus be detec­ted. As a result, coun­try A could moni­tor the nuclear silos of coun­try B by reques­ting radio wave maps of the room in regu­lar inter­vals.

Howe­ver, we must make sure that a coun­try can­not gene­ra­te a radio wave map of a ful­ly sto­cked nuclear silo in advan­ce and then con­ti­nues to send it to coun­try A, even after the wea­pons had long been remo­ved,” exp­lains Dr Dr Ulrich Rühr­mair from HGI. To this end, the rese­ar­chers have inte­gra­ted a so-cal­led chal­len­ge into the sys­tem, i.e. a varia­ti­on in the request for a radio wave map bet­ween the coun­tries.

Pre­ven­ting decep­ti­on

In the room that has to be moni­to­red, 20 rota­ting mir­rors are instal­led, which can be remo­te­ly adjus­ted. The mir­rors reflect the radio waves, thus chan­ging the refle­xi­on pat­tern in the room, with each mir­ror set­ting crea­ting an indi­vi­du­al pat­tern. Pri­or to sen­ding the request, coun­try A would arran­ge the mir­rors in a cer­tain way. In reply, coun­try B would have to send the radio wave map of the room with the exact same mir­ror arran­ge­ment to coun­try A. This can be done only if coun­try B mea­su­res the room live with radio waves and the cur­rent mir­ror set­ting every time. Pre­vious­ly recor­ded radio wave maps would be useless.

Coun­try A can veri­fy the reply only if the refle­xi­on pat­terns for a num­ber of dif­fe­rent mir­ror set­tings were mea­su­red and saved when the tech­no­lo­gy was first imple­men­ted.

Mir­ror arran­ge­ment must not be pre­dic­ta­ble

The IT secu­ri­ty rese­ar­chers are cur­r­ent­ly tes­ting the sys­tem in a con­tai­ner at Ruhr-Uni­ver­si­tät, using dum­my war­heads and 20 mir­rors. This set­ting enab­les them to crea­te bil­li­ons of sextilli­ons dif­fe­rent mir­ror arran­ge­ments. “The chal­len­ge is to make sure that the moni­to­red coun­try doesn’t learn to pre­dict the next mir­ror set­ting over time,” says HGI rese­ar­cher Prof Dr Chris­tof Paar. Were this the case, the coun­try could gene­ra­te the requi­red radio wave map without scan­ning the room anew.

In order to pre­vent this sce­n­a­rio, the IT experts from Bochum deploy an unpre­dic­ta­ble cryp­to­gra­phic pro­to­col to align the mir­rors. “The important thing is to ensu­re that the cor­re­la­ti­on bet­ween the chal­len­ge and the reply can­not be descri­bed by a sys­tem of line­ar equa­ti­on,” says Zen­ger. “This is becau­se such sys­tems are rela­tively easy to figu­re out in mathe­ma­ti­cal terms.” The same app­lies to the phy­sics, i.e. the mir­ror mate­ri­als: their refle­xi­on pro­per­ties shouldn’t be line­ar eit­her.

post

Neuartiges Verfahren zur Atomwaffenkontrolle

Mit der Technik könnte zukünftig überprüft werden, ob Staaten sich an Abrüstungsverträge halten.

Ein internationales IT-Forscherteam aus Bochum, Princeton und Harvard hat eine Technik entwickelt, mit der sich Veränderungen in Atomwaffenlagern beobachten lassen, ohne dass dabei geheime Informationen über die Waffen preisgegeben werden. Sie könnte zukünftig helfen zu kontrollieren, ob sich Staaten an Abrüstungsverträge halten. Die Raumüberwachung erfolgt physikalisch mittels Radiowellen; ein ausgeklügeltes kryptografisches Verfahren macht den Prozess fälschungssicher.

Aus wissenschaftlicher Sicht stellt die Atomwaffenkontrolle dabei eine maximale Herausforderung dar: Potenzielle Angreifer sind in diesem Fall nicht kleinere Gruppen von Hackern oder andere Kriminelle, sondern ganze Staaten. Diese verfügen über annähernd unbegrenzte finanzielle Ressourcen und uneingeschränkten Zugang zu modernster Angriffstechnologie.

In dem interdisziplinären Projekt kooperieren Mitglieder des Bochumer Horst-Görtz-Instituts für IT-Sicherheit (HGI) eng mit amerikanischen Kollegen von der Princeton University und der Harvard University. Das Bochumer Wissenschaftsmagazin Rubin berichtet.

Radiowellenkarte zeigt Veränderungen

Um Veränderungen in einem Atomwaffenlager feststellen zu können, nutzen die Forscher elektromagnetische Wellen im Radiobereich. Diese werden von Wänden und Gegenständen reflektiert, sodass sich eine Art einzigartige Radiowellenkarte des Raums erzeugen lässt. Jede Veränderung – etwa wenn ein Atomsprengkopf aus dem Lager entfernt würde – würde das Reflexionsmuster ändern und könnte so detektiert werden. Staat A könnte also die Atomwaffenlager von Staat B kontrollieren, indem er in regelmäßigen Abständen eine Radiowellenkarte des Raums anfordert.

„Allerdings müssen wir verhindern, dass Staat B eine Radiowellenkarte von einem voll bestückten Atomwaffenlager erstellt, speichert und dann immer wieder an Staat A schickt, obwohl längst Sprengköpfe aus dem Lager entfernt wurden“, erklärt Dr. Dr. Ulrich Rührmair vom HGI. Dafür haben die Forscher eine sogenannte Challenge in das System eingebaut, also eine Variation in der Anfrage für die Radiowellenkarte zwischen den beiden Staaten.

Täuschung vorbeugen

In dem zu kontrollierenden Raum werden dazu mehrere drehbare Spiegel installiert, die sich ferngesteuert ausrichten lassen. Die Spiegel reflektieren die Radiowellen und ändern so das Reflexionsmuster des Raums, wobei jede Spiegelstellung ein individuelles Muster erzeugt. Vor jeder Abfrage der Radiowellenkarte würde Staat A die Spiegel in eine bestimmte Anordnung drehen. Als Antwort müsste Staat B die Radiowellenkarte des Raums mit exakt dieser Spiegelanordnung schicken, und das innerhalb weniger Sekunden. Das geht nur, wenn Staat B den Raum jedes Mal live mit Radiowellen und der aktuellen Spiegelstellung vermisst; zuvor aufgezeichnete Radiowellenkarten wären nutzlos.

Damit Staat A die Antwort auf Richtigkeit prüfen kann, muss er bei Inbetriebnahme der Technik die Reflexionsmuster des Raums für eine bestimmte Anzahl verschiedener Spiegelstellungen gemessen und gespeichert haben.

Spiegelanordnung darf nicht vorhersagbar sein

Das System testen die IT-Sicherheitsforscher derzeit in einem Container an der Ruhr-Universität mit Atomwaffenattrappen und 20 Spiegeln. Mit diesem Setting können sie Milliarden Trilliarden verschiedener Spiegelstellungen erzeugen. „Eine Herausforderung dabei ist, dass der überwachte Staat nicht im Lauf der Zeit lernen darf, die nächste Spiegelstellung vorherzusagen“, sagt HGI-Forscher Prof. Dr. Christof Paar. Dann könnte er die erforderliche Radiowellenkarte eventuell selbst erzeugen, ohne den Raum neu vermessen zu haben.

Um das zu verhindern, nutzen die Bochumer IT-Experten ein nicht vorhersagbares kryptografisches Protokoll, um die Spiegel einzustellen. „Wichtig ist unter anderem, dass der Zusammenhang zwischen der Challenge und der Antwort darauf nicht durch ein lineares Gleichungssystem eindeutig beschrieben werden kann, weil man das System ansonsten leicht mathematisch überlisten kann“, sagt Dr. Christian Zenger, Gründer des Start-ups Physec, das eng in das Projekt involviert ist. Gleiches gilt für die Physik, also für die Spiegelmaterialien, deren Reflexionseigenschaften nicht linear sein sollten.

(Foto © Roberto Schirdewahn)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.